Home | Message Board | State Rep Blog | Race Results | Race Photos | Grand Prix Information | Clubs | Archives | Links

Arkansas Grand Prix RRCA Racing Series
Archive Links
Home Archives Index Grand Prix Champions RRCA Awards
1982 Grand Prix I 1983 Grand Prix II 1984 Grand Prix III 1985 Grand Prix IV 1986 Grand Prix V
VI - X
1987 Grand Prix VI 1988 Grand Prix VII 1989 Grand Prix VIII 1990 Grand Prix IX 1991 Grand Prix X
1992 Grand Prix XI 1993 Grand Prix XII 1994 Grand Prix XIII 1995 Grand Prix XIV 1996 Grand Prix XV
1997 Grand Prix XVI 1998 Grand Prix XVII 1999 Grand Prix XVIII 2000 Grand Prix XIX 2001 Grand Prix XX
2002 Grand Prix XXI 2003 Grand Prix XXII 2004 Grand Prix XXIII 2005 Grand Prix XXIV 2006 Grand Prix XXV
2007 Grand Prix XXVI 2008 Grand Prix XXVII 2009 Grand Prix XXVIII 2010 Grand Prix XXIX 2011 Grand Prix XXX
2012 Grand Prix XXXI 2013 Grand Prix XXXII 2014 Grand Prix XXXIII 2015 Grand Prix XXXIV 2016 Grand Prix XXXV
2017 Grand Prix XXXVI

Grand Prix Archives

Arkansas RRCA Grand Prix Racing Series Archives Index

1990 Arkansas Grand Prix IX Champions

Overall Male:
  1. Fred Klinge
  2. Gary Wade
  3. Johnny Gross
Male Teams:
  1. Little Rock Roadrunners
  2. Arkansas Running Klub
  3. South Arkansas Running Club
  4. Hot Springs Spa Pacers
Overall Female:
  1. Joyce Deason
  2. Amelia Ingersoll
  3. Lisa Thoreson
Female Teams:
  1. Little Rock Roadrunners
  2. Arkansas Running Klub
  3. Hot Springs Spa Pacers

Arkansas Grand Prix IX

Arkansas Grand Prix IX marked a turning point for the Series as it doubled to 10 races and featured State Championship Events that were worth more Grand Prix points than non-Championships for the first time. Geographically, this expanded the Series from a relatively small area stretching between the Little Rock and Hot Springs areas to include races in southwestern and northwestern parts of the state. The number of runners participating also increased. Fred Klinge became the first man to successfully defend his overall title in winning the GP for a second straight year. Joyce Deason dominated the women's competition to win the first of 3 straight GP crowns. The race lineup consisted of the same five races from 1988-89 plus five races new to the Grand Prix: the Pepsi 10K in Little Rock, the Festival of 2 Rivers 5K in Arkadelphia, the MayFAST 12K in Fort Smith, the Watermelon 5K in Hope, and the Oktoberfest Fast 5K in Hot Springs. Both the Pepsi 10K (later known as the Bud Run and the Capital City Classic) and the Watermelon 5K would become staples of the Grand Prix Series for the next several decades. The Arkansas RRCA Awards added one category by splitting the Most Improved Runner award into Male and Female divisions.

Pepsi 10K
Festival of Two Rivers 5K
Riverfest Rock Run 8K
Watermelon 5K
Twin Cities Bank 5K
Caddo River 15K
Oktoberfest Fast 5K
Arkansas 20K
Spa 10K

1990 Arkansas RRCA Awards Winners